Snakes. Why did it have to be snakes?

Just dropping in to point you all in the direction of an awesome game I’ve been playing. I probably wouldn’t have noticed it myself, if it wasn’t for a streamer, caster and entertainer called MAN (ooh would you look at that, someone I don’t hate) who started streaming it.

The game is called Spelunky and it’s a roguelike platformer. In case you are not in the know, let me explain. Roguelikes are games that have procedurally (almost randomly) generated levels where the goal is to survive the environment while managing resources like health, bombs, rope and trying to collect as much loot as you can, all while trying not to fall to your death. Or run into a trap. Or get bitten by a snake, a spider or maimed by a bat. Oh I hate bats. And them spiders hiding in ancient jars with loot, the bastards.

Spelunky

The most likely reason I haven’t linked to Spelunky before is because it was originally released back in 2009 (I think), which is a long time ago. In any case, I enjoy it and I urge you to give it a try, if nothing else because it’s free and because it has some awesome music. I guarantee that you’ll get something out of it (direct all claims at youwontgetjackshit@whyevenbother.com). At the very least, you’ll get to rekindle your hatred for bats, snakes or rediscover your arachnophobia. Always a fun time. You can download the game for windows here.

Oh and don’t bother looking up guides. Learning is a big part of the experience.

And now for my disappearing act. Now you see me, now you…

5 thoughts on “Snakes. Why did it have to be snakes?

  1. Blaq,

    Reader request here: any thoughts on MechWarrior Online? Has it even hit the radar? I just learned about it a few days ago, was wondering if you’ve looked into it. (What, is this a not-so-subtle topic plant for more things that I can read later? Never!)

    • I have heard of it, but was never interested since I haven’t played any of the Mechwarrior games before. Release is slated for somewhere 2012, probably quite some time away.

Leave a Reply

