Being a dick

I was going to write a blog post but then I watched a video by a certain Brit about WoH and lost the last bit of incentive I managed to muster previously. I’m sure most of you are familiar with TotalBiscuit, either through his videos about various games or from seeing him shoutcast competitive matches.

I wasn’t going to go into detail on why I dislike him, but suffice it to say that his marginal success in shoutcasting Starcraft 2 (which is different from casting) stems from the fact that he has a british accent, a radio voice and can talk really fast, and not because he would be a charismatic figure, a good host or entertaining to listen to, as is the common misconception. But that’s an opinion and as such it is subjective by nature.

However I will go into detail on why I think the “WTF is Wrath of Heroes?” video is an embarrassment to the creator.

a) Objectivity is thrown out the window into a nearby dumpster.

I understand that most (all) of TB’s videos are intended purely as entertainment and not as reviews or informational videos, simply because they seem to focus more on the creators love of hearing himself talk and cracking jokes than anything relevant to viewers interested in the game itself.

Even knowing that hearing nothing bile and venom being spewed out by the narrator is a bit unsettling. I had my fair share of bashing WoH, but at least I attempted to be somewhat objective in my criticism and presented both sides of the story, the good and the bad. You’ll only hear unconstructive criticism, sarcasm and snarky comments on TotalBiscuit’s part though.

I hear you say “but, but, Yahtzee always shits on everything and you’re not pointing at him yelling ‘corporate whore'”. That’s because Yahtzee shits on everything equally, in contrast to TB who seems to only shit on games that aren’t the wider audience’s favourites (LoL) or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up and throwing in a bonus for a favourable video. Not to mention the fact that Yahtzee provides unbiased criticism (albeit concealed by his signature cynicism) and is actually funny.

b) The main complaint in the video is that there is no skill required in WoH.

Which I might agree with. But the problem here is that TotalBiscuit is notoriously bad at playing video games, I believe he even admitted it himself somewhere (which I can’t find right now). But it’s a claim I can make from seeing him play Starcraft 2 and from seeing a few of his WTF series. You could claim it’s because he’s playing many games at once or because he is always relatively new to the ones he’s presenting, but I don’t really care.

This might seem like a personal attack but it really isn’t. I simply find hearing a person like TB complain about a skill level of any game paradoxical (and funny). Had he not been infamous in this regard I wouldn’t have a problem with it.

c) The game is in beta.

Yes, it’s open beta but it’s a beta still. Things might change, but I doubt TB would ever make another video if WoH changed for the better. Because being wrong is not something you do when you’re popular.

The game might be bad, but if you’re going to purposely bash it without at least trying to provide an unbiased opinion or constructive criticism you probably shouldn’t even bother. Or you might be called an embarrassment to the community.

One last thought: please don’t confuse cynicism with being a dick.

62 thoughts on “Being a dick

  1. Yeah you say that but at some point you have to say a game is just broken and has no redeeming features. Mr Biscuit is a good commentator you say that it isnt a personal attack yet you call him a dick. Beta may be beta but bad games dont instantly get good after the beta stage. At the end of the day all opinions are biased because people are people and not machines thats just the way it is and this is an opinion based rating system so complaining about that seems pointless.

    • 1. I never claimed the game is good.
      2. I never called anyone a dick. The ambiguity however, is intentional.
      3. I never claimed the game will get fixed after beta ends, I merely allowed for the possibility of this happening.

      Yes, everyone is biased but we can at least strive to remain as objective as we can. Or should.

  2. Most of what you said about TotalBiscuit is wrong, both regarding his goal and skills as a content producer, and regarding his attitude towards his own work. It would be pointless to argue with you on the matter, obviously, since you seem to have a pretty strong opinion of him – albeit a wrong one – so I won’t.

    Some of the stuff you wrote is almost painfully ridiculous, such as the accusation that TB generally doesn’t provide constructive criticism. I’m fully aware that he doesn’t need anyone to defend him, but I don’t like to see fallacies thrown around when they’re about people whose work I appreciate.

    “This might seem like a personal attack but it really isn’t” ? Yes it is, it really is, because if you had actually done the slightest bit of research on TB, you’d have realized that the opinion you expressed here is totally out of touch with reality.

    • You are fully aware TB doesn’t need to be defended, yet here you are, defending away.

      I’m not an investigative journalist, I don’t do indepth research for my posts. I’m a casual blogger. I wrote what I feel about this particular figure of the community. I’m sorry if it offends you.

      PS: I’m sure that I’m not the only one who feels this way, it’s you who may not be in touch with reality.

  3. …You do realize WTF is a first impressions series primarily made of indie games right? Key words there are FIRST IMPRESSIONS. He usually does point out the positive, but if there are no positive points that he sees from his FIRST IMPRESSION, then there’s nothing to say about it.

    • Fair enough. I’d still think that pointing out all the negatives about the game can be done in a different way. One that doesn’t attract as many viewers, but might be considered more professional.

  4. big floor here you said a point about him not supporting it because of the developers, CORRECTION if you watch any of his videos he is always pointing out (in the humble bundle conversation for example) that he is in support of low budget indie game developers, also as he said if a game is not good he is not going to give it 5 star because you for example like it (its just an opinion) so if you are going to talk about being bias do not go and be very bias about his video

    • “…TB who seems to only shit on games that aren’t the wider audience’s favourites (LoL) or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up…”

      Now, it’s probably my mistake for not explaining “wider audience’s favourites”, but I consider indie games to be the audience’s favourites (mostly on the PC) these days. It’s probably a result of many good game outlates highlighting indie games (including TotalBiscuit), those being cheap and most of the time more entertaining than AAA titles.

      The point I’m trying to make here is that indie games pull in viewers. Not that there’s anything wrong with highlighting indie games. But the point I’m trying to get across in the post is that if being constructive isn’t in TB’s best interest he’ll go for the next best thing – entertainment.

      Of course, I might be wrong and entertainment has been the focus all along.

  5. The difference between cynicism and being a dick is generally the person listening to the other guy speak. The difference in the person being somewhat loosely tied to said persons level of intelligence.

    Now, I am sorry, since I used BIG words for you in the previous sentence, so I’ll simplify: “Don’t be buthurt over the fact that someone dislikes a game you obviously have a boner for.” To be honest, this looks like you are sad you didn’t get to play the beta and he did, AND he didn’t like it, what an unappreciative little cunt, that TotalBiscuit.

    Mother of God, would you even look at what you wrote before posting it? We understand you dislike something just like someone can dislike something you obviously fucking adore. Now, not sound too demeaning, since then, you might not like me, either [:( <= note the sadness], but quite frankly, I remember watching AT least a dozen different WTF is episodes and i recall the words: "In my opinion.." and "Purely subjective.." and "it seems TO ME.."… So, that being said, either you are too fucking stupid to notice it, too deaf (So sorry about that, for sure.) or just too in love with a game to notice it.

    I would go down bit by bit and take on every single one of the points you made, but seeing how your hurt ego will prompt you to delete this as soon as you realise I am write, I won't even bother.

    • If you had bothered to read my post (and click on the link that would lead you to my post criticising WoH) instead of being a dick, you’d notice that I don’t really like the game. And that I have access to the beta. Which basically makes your whole comment invalid.

      Except for the point where you insult me for no reason. Deeply contemplating all of what you wrote, I have the following reply: in my opinion you’re a dick.

  6. a) Objectivity is thrown out the window into a nearby dumpster.

    You correctly claim that Totalbiscuit’s WTF series isn’t meant to be a review (it’s his first impressions of the game where he gives his opinion), but then immediately compare and contrast him to a game reviewer?

    b) The main complaint in the video is that there is no skill required in WoH.

    I fail to see how this is paradoxical like you claim. Totalbiscuit “is notoriously bad at playing video games” yet claims this game takes no skill. Therefore, the game is probably really easy. From his opinionated standpoint, he thinks the game should be more challenging.

    c) The game is in beta.

    First, I believe TotalBiscuit has created several new videos for games that he previously played in beta. Secondly, I don’t understand why you believe he can’t say anything he wants about this game? Again, he’s not reviewing it per se; he’s providing his first impressions of it. It’s his opinion and other people are allowed to form their own.

    My two cents.

    • a) I probably should have explained that in my opinion previews hold almost the same function as reviews, in that they give insight into knowledge the reader doesn’t yet have. The only difference is that they’re done on a basis of a short demonstration, a playable demo, a presentation done by the developer, anything but the finished product really.

      If you consider above to be true, I can’t really see why previews shouldn’t strive to achieve objectivity the same way reviews do.

      b) I come from the standpoint that knowing whether or not doing something takes skill requires one to be versed in roughly the same skillset to the one you are judging. Someone that isn’t adept at playing chess would see it as a game of moving pieces at random, until he’d actually start learning about it.

      But perhaps you are right. Perhaps the skills required to realise whether the game is easy or hard are really basic in WoH. Or maybe I’m just full of shit.

      c) Because he is presenting the game to the wider audience I believe he should strive to maintain some level of objectivity and self control. But that’s just me. Maybe WTF is just an entertaining series where the audience doesn’t really care about the games and is only there to hear TB make fun of bad games.

  7. This is what’s wrong with society today…You tell your viewers what you think, and get bashed for it…When will people learn that thoughts are there to be expressed, no matter how bad they might be?!? Keep on being awesome, TB!

  8. More bias from TB. He called water wet. How dares he.

    Seriously, get the fuck over it.

    One last thought: please don’t confuse having a different opinion with being biased.

  9. You might redo your research there. TB blasted MW3 as well for instance, I’d call Activision big, I’d call CoD a crowd favourite.

    Furthermore, it doesn’t take skill to recognize that a game requires a great deal of skill. That’s a poor ad hominem attack, it sounds like one and it is.

    • I believe an ad hominem attack would imply some sort of argument being made. I wasn’t making any arguments beside expressing the opinion that he isn’t good at playing games. That can’t be an argument because I have no other basis for that claim than my own opinion (he doesn’t compete so quantification is not possible).

      I was merely stating I find it funny.

      “You might redo your research there. TB blasted MW3 as well for instance, I’d call Activision big, I’d call CoD a crowd favourite.”

      Fair enough. Although I might argue he had very little negative to say about CoDBLOPS, with MW3 being almost identical to it. But because I’ve only read a few reviews of both games and never really played any of them, I can’t.

  10. Also, you should probably notice, (if you can, that is, over that huge ego of yours) that his videos are FIRST IMPRESSIONS of the game.

    On the side note – doesn’t matter it’s beta. It would take remake of all characters and few mechanics to get it better.

  11. TB is right you know, WoH is just a terrible game and a terrible ripoff of trying to improve Warhammer Online. And once again they failed, don’t get me wrong, I love Warhammer Online, I played it a lot, but he game was just buggy and unstable as hell. They tried to fix it with WoH but thats just an arcade version of Warhammer Online and they should have spend the time that went into WoH in Warhammer and actually try to fix their shit instead of this crappy “new” game.

    • I know TB is right, I never said he isn’t. I’m taking issue with the way he’s saying it, not with what he’s saying. See the link to my thoughts on the beta.

  12. Woow.. the only thing you left out is that he always bash on games he don’t like. He didn’t like that game and he bashed it. Every time I watch his videos I think he sucks at playing games and are only looking on the gameplay itself. “or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up”… You big fat liar.. Magicka, Minecraft, all the indiegames, etc.. THEY don’t/didn’t have a big developer backing them up and I’ve seen him bash on big games as well… I understand you like the game but to seriously write a long blog post criticizing TB ’cause he didn’t like the game you play?

    DERP DERP DERP DI DERP

    • Sorry for quoting myself: “Now, it’s probably my mistake for not explaining “wider audience’s favourites”, but I consider indie games to be the audience’s favourites (mostly on the PC) these days. It’s probably a result of many good game outlates highlighting indie games (including TotalBiscuit), those being cheap and most of the time more entertaining than AAA titles.

      The point I’m trying to make here is that indie games pull in viewers. Not that there’s anything wrong with highlighting indie games. But the point I’m trying to get across in the post is that if being constructive isn’t in TB’s best interest he’ll go for the next best thing – entertainment.”

      I don’t like the game. And could you provide a link to a popular title that he bashed? I’m making a library.
      Of course, I might be wrong and entertainment has been the focus all along.

  13. I have to stand behind TB for this, because i believe the man is truely entertaining. Yahtzee isnt allowed to like games because its his thing, unlike TB, whose thing is to ooze sarcasm and brit. In this ‘skill’ respect, just because you are bad at games doesnt mean you cant be annoyed by games that dont require you to be good. I know i hate call of duty for having killstreaks and overpowered guns, and i cant get a kill in multiplayer to save my life.

    • Fair enough, but I would think that if you’re unable to attain high enough of a skill level to reach the “skill ceiling” you can’t really get a grasp on how much skill the game takes.

      Although an argument could be made that WoH is so easy even TB reached the skill ceiling.

  14. I’m sorry, but you lost all credibility on “I wasn’t going to go into detail on why I dislike him, but suffice it to say that his marginal success…”

    This post is nothing about TB. It’s about your opinion of him. Which you are free to have and speak about, but do expect conflicting arguments. There are plenty of games I like that TB considers bad and plenty of games he likes I don’t give a crap about (MOBA games for example), but I don’t hate TB because of it.

    a) TB’s “WTF is” videos are by nature subjective. It’s a first impressions video. No one can make an objective first impression. Objectivity requires knowing all sides of the matter. If it helps you understand the concept better, all “WTF is” videos are TB’s first impressions.

    b) TB is as far as I know a good MOBA player. When he said the WoH doesn’t require skill, he meant it as a comparison to other MOBA games. Just because he sucks at some other genres doesn’t mean his recognition of skill is lessened.

    c) It doesn’t matter if he does another video or not. Viewers can make their own mind whether or not they like the game. Yeah, sure there are people who are incapable of having their own opinion and respecting someone else’s conflicting opinion, but are those people really worth it to bash someone else’s opinion just to get their approval.

    As a closing argument you should consider that even though the WoH presentation was done in a negative light, TB gave the game huge publicity. Out of all the people watching his videos there will be plenty of players who might give the game a go regardless of TB’s opinions. As for those whose opinions are swayed by someone else’s opinions – I don’t think the community would have wanted them anyway.

    • I can’t see how I lost credibility there, you probably should have quoted more of that thought.

      You are exactly right, this post is about my opinion of TB. I’m not trying to dissect his work, I’m just making a statement.

      a) True objectivity is unattainable, that much is clear to anyone who has given it any thought whatsoever. However, striving to be as objective as possible is something we can all do, some better than others, and I fail to believe that WTF video is all of objectivity TB can muster. In my opinion someone that is displaying a game to a wider audience should strive for more objectivity. Much more.

      b) As much as I hate the acronym MOBA, I have to comment on this. Most MOBAs are played from a top down perspective with the character controlled by clicking. WOH isn’t a MOBA per se. Not to mention that outside of the professionals it’s really hard to judge a MOBA player’s skill. For example, in my opinion I suck at LoL, with an 800 ELO rating in solo queue, but as a general consensus (theirs of course) I’m still better than most of my mates including the ones with the 1200+ ELO. I’ve seen plenty of people worse than my friends and plenty worse than those. Where does that leave me?

      c) Viewers will have a hard time deciding whether they like the game or not from someone that can’t present a mostly objective viewpoint. Unless they think like TB. In which case they have no reason to be watching the video, except to be entertained.

      No, you see, that’s where you’re wrong. It doesn’t matter how easily someone is swayed by the opinions of others, a player is still a player. Especially these days when attention spans are so short MMOs can barely keep up with the shifting populations by releasing expansions.

  15. So TB says the game requires no skill, and then you say its because he’s awful at video games?

    He won the match, if he’s awful then that proves the game requires no skill.

  16. “TB who seems to only shit on games that […] don’t have big powerful developers backing them up and throwing in a bonus for a favourable video.”
    Really? One of the currently most influential promoters of indie titles is only positive about AAA titles? Compare TB’s video on MW3 to Metacritic’s 80, and try to claim that again.

    “The main complaint in the video is that there is no skill required in WoH. […] But the problem here is that TotalBiscuit is notoriously bad at playing video games, I believe he even admitted it himself somewhere”
    True, even though that mostly applies to platformers, puzzle games and point ‘n clicks. But that is actually an argument for his claim that there is a low to non-existent skill requirement, since he ended up at the top of the scoreboard in one game. So someone who’s bad at gaming is able to ‘win’, in one of his first games. That sounds more or less like a definition of low skill requirement.

    “Things might change, but I doubt TB would ever make another video if WoH changed for the better. Because being wrong is not something you do when you’re popular.”
    There is no ‘being wrong’ here. Evaluating a game for what it is, and calling it a bad game, is not ‘being wrong’ when it changes and gets better later.

    “[…] but if you’re going to purposely bash it without at least trying to provide an unbiased opinion or constructive criticism you probably shouldn’t even bother.”
    Right back at you.

    • When evaluating a game for the general audience you usually do that when it’s a finished product, not a beta. Therefore he couldn’t have been evaluating a game. He was stating that he doesn’t like an unfinished product with little to no regard to the thought that the game could change.

      ““[…] but if you’re going to purposely bash it without at least trying to provide an unbiased opinion or constructive criticism you probably shouldn’t even bother.”
      Right back at you.”

      What? You want me to tell you why I dislike TB and remain unbiased about it? You realise that one’s feelings can’t be described objectively? I also don’t see the point even if I could, I expressed an opinion, I wasn’t reviewing TB’s video making and game evaluating skills.

      • I have seen previews for games in every form of gaming journalism, so waiting until release is not ‘usual’. Loads of reviews come out before release. And you can be evaluating a game before it’s a finished product. In the beta stage, it has certain core game mechanics (the 3-team setup in this game for example) that are most likely not going to change during the beta, and make it a worse game. (Obviously subjectively worse, some people may love that, even though I personally can’t see why.)

        Alright, I should have quoted it as “[…] but if you’re going to purposely bash it without at least trying to provide […] constructive criticism you probably shouldn’t even bother.” I wasn’t focusing on the ‘opinion’ part.

        “I wasn’t reviewing TB’s video making and game evaluating skills.”
        Well, when you say: “However I will go into detail on why I think the “WTF is Wrath of Heroes?” video is an embarrassment to the creator.”, it does makes it sound like you were.

        (Any response to the first two points in my original post? I’m actually curious to know, not trying to be a smartass.)

    • Please don’t confuse subjectivity of liking/disliking someone (being objective in that situation is really hard and most of the time unnecessary) with subjectivity when reviewing an object for the wider audience.

  17. You obviously aren’t familiar with TB’s work at all. What is worse, you have no idea how to construct an argument and you’re basically making a fool of yourself. This is probably a publicity stunt on your part…I hope. If it isn’t I suggest you stop blogging. The Internet has enough bullshit in it already…

  18. I’m going to counter argue two points you’ve made regarding TB:

    1)You say that he only talks favorably about games with a large corporate backing, but he has introduced the community to many small-time games. His WTF-a-thon alone was made up of mostly indie games, or at least smaller time developers. He’s featured games such as Trine, Desktop Dungeons, Dungeons of Dredmor, Tiny Bang Story, and Dwarfs.

    He constantly expresses his love of how indie game developers will try different things in comparison to bigger developers backed by a big publisher.

    2)You discuss his skill level in games, but how does that have anything to do with how a game is developed or presented? Go watch his WTF is Tiny Bang Story, he is very positive about many elements of that game which prompted me to buy it. But he is AWFUL at the game and says as much.

    So what if he doesn’t always top the leader boards in FPS games and is only gold league in SC2. It doesn’t negate his opinion on a skill cap. As long as he doesn’t tout himself as god’s gift to gaming and analyze the skill cap as such. And remember he plays most games on the default difficulty. So, it’s what the casual gamer would experience if they just picked up the game and tried to play.

    Beyond those two points I would like to add that for many games he takes the time to play them for a little bit before he gives them a proper “WTF is …” For example he was a good couple of hours into Deus Ex: Human Revolution before he put up a video with his first impressions.

    As for Wrath of Heroes, I have not watched his WTF of it. So, I don’t know how scathing or unfair his opinions of it are. Yes, it is beta, but as you say it’s “open” beta. Which is a bit different than closed beta. That means, more than likely, the game you’re seeing is the game you will get. There will only be some minor tweaks and balancing barring any major issues popping up. And in the end this is just one person’s opinion. And for every negative impression he’s given on a game there are quite a few more where he’s been positive or at least balanced in his criticism.

    The thing that needs to be stressed is that there is room for opinion in gaming impressions/reviews. Not everyone has the same taste. But if you find yourself liking things similar to TB over the past year or so you would tend to trust his feelings. But if you completely disagree with him you probably dismiss most of, if not all, his videos. People can find another source of reviews/impressions. Is GamePro still around? Maybe they’ll give you some fair reviews…

  19. “in contrast to TB who seems to only shit on games that aren’t the wider audience’s favourites (LoL) or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up and throwing in a bonus for a favourable video.” ok you have obviously not watched many of TB’s videos so you might be forgiven. He plays a lot of indie games that don’t have much press and bring them to light and gives his honest opinion of them, a lot of the time he helps indie developers get more game sales because he’s talked about how much he enjoyed their game

  20. First of all I want to say that i agree with you in that TB shouldn’t have posted that video. It was a bad one and overly negative to a game that is still in beta.
    But…
    You are wrong in several of the things you say about TB.
    First I want to point out where you say:
    “..in contrast to TB who seems to only shit on games that aren’t the wider audience’s favourites (LoL)..”.
    This is just wrong. What about CoD, ’nuff said?
    In fact, I have discovered more indie games after I’ve started watching TB than ever before.

    I also want to mention your comment that TB is notoriously bad at playing video games. This is not true either. When you see him play it’s clear that he is at average or above in skill level. Say what you will about his SCII, he is not a bad player in general.
    He is a Rager tho.. haha.

    And you are saying he has a marginal success in SCII casting, this is ridiculous. IMO and many others, he is one of the great 6 casters in “the west”. And casting some of the biggest events in EU and probably soon the US is not marginal.

    And you can’t say “..the creators love of hearing himself talk and cracking jokes than anything relevant..” and more, and not call it a personal attack. I want to say that I have quit several of his streams and WTF is.. videos because he was being a dick, but I don’t start making false facts about why he does videos.

    I actually don’t think you know what you are talking about. But that is my subjective opinion :)

  21. a)
    unless stating the triangle count of the models or the composure of the materials (ie technical stuff) you cannot talk about media such as games without it being your opinion. just because he hates it and you love it doesn’t give you any more or less right to attack him
    b)
    you don’t have to be the worlds strongest swimmer to gauge the depth of the fucking water.
    c)
    if WoH changed a heel of a lot and seriously competed with HoN and LoL you can bet your ass he’d make another video. also he did critique it and tell views why he thought it was bad, you just didn’t hear it over your own sobbing and bawwing

    • I let some typos slip in at the end there, don’t take that as a lack of intelligece on my part, but a comment that wont even see the light of day because you’re going to delete it isn’t worth proof-reading.

      • Sure. For the n-th time, read my opinion of the WoH beta, I’m not particularly fond of it to put it mildly.

        a) And you’re right of course, complete objectivity is impossible unless you’re talking facts (although that statement is wrong too, considering our perception isn’t absolute, but nevermind that). But we can and should strive for objectivity. Especially if you’re someone showing the game to a mass audience.

        b) I might have given you this one if you hadn’t chosen such a bad analogy. He doesn’t need to be the world’s strongest swimmer to gauge the depth, but he does need to be a good swimmer to gauge how hard it is to swim to the bottom.

        c) Yes, but what are the chances of that happening? Say it’s marginally successful with a playerbase of half of what HoN has. Or maybe the playerbase of World of Tanks. Would he make another video?

  22. a). Biscuit’s “WTF is…” was never ment as an objective review – he states in almost every video that it’s just the first impressions of a game -> which are almost ment to be subjective. So the point of the video is to state that HE doesn’t like it.
    Besides that he doesn’t bash on small devs or praise the big ones… He had bad opinions on MW3 and the BF3-singleplayer / praised games like Limbo and Orcs Must Die…
    b). He actually seems to be pretty good in fps and moba-games to me but thats also subjective.
    c). He stated during the video that the game isn’t fun to play for him in its current state. If there would be major changes I can pretty well imagine him doing another video for WoH.

    I’m not hating, I just think that you miss the point of his WTF is…-series… I’m also not a TB-Fanboy and disagree with some opinions of his.

  23. It wasn’t being a dick, he stated the nail on the head, the game is boring and doesn’t require any skill. and what the fuck does it matter he’s bad in some games? none whatsoever.

    And he said it himself in multiple times, beta is beta and things will change in other beta videos.

    He did his first impressions, not his *omg dis iz bad dun get dis game review*, it’s his honest opinion and that’s nothing wrong with that, it isn’t a review.

    For all i care YOU are an enormous dick for not appreciating TB’s honest and good content, if you don’t like it you don’t have to be an arsehole and write an wall of text with invalid crap, just leave if you don’t.

  24. I love it when someone comes around and has the exact same opinion as me. Couldn’t have put it better myself – thank you!

  25. “TB who seems to only shit on games that aren’t the wider audience’s favourites (LoL) or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up and throwing in a bonus for a favourable video.” Considering the amount of indie games TotalBiscuit has covered (and some praised), and the (very low) amount of “blockbuster” games he has covered, this arguement is pretty much irrelevant.

    As to the “b)” arguement, first of all, he was in a competetive high end raiding guild in WoW back in TBC, when the content was actually challenging. Apart from that, yes you’re right about one thing; that entire arguement looks more like a personal attack than a relevant arguement.

  26. One last thought: please don’t confuse cynicism with being a dick.
    i can throw that right back at you. woh is just a bad bad game tryed it and i will give tb credit for notice some thing like, you cant take out the mmo part in a game, and still think it is good. it is not, and i think you shuld be happy that he did not point out, that they take a famus name and then dont use real contest from the name they use. warhammer is not warhammer becouse of the races it is warhammer becouse of the story, and there is not story telling there is worth the name warhammer. with other word they use a name to sell a product, there have nothing to do with the real thing, that is fake marketing and is aginst the law.

    you point out tb’s skills and then i find it funny that he is at the 1. place at the first game he play’s, that say somthing about the game’s skill base.

    there will not be any way it can go esport, and that is importen for at game, there is based on pvp, to survive.

    i will give woh about a half year or so and then the game is dead

    he is cynical aginst the games he play’s, and that is importen to be. i dont always agree, but he give an impresion on how the game is when you first start it, and that is importen for many, that the game is worth play the first 2 hours or so. i have lots of game i never played more than a cupple of hours of becouse, that was not a good start, or i dont like the controle, and somthing like that, he provides with that information. it is not a review it is a first time impresion. keep that in mind, and often you tent to find more wrong than right the first 2 hours.

    you say it is unconstructive critisisme? im sory but, there is no skills needed in the game, is a god damn good construktive critisisme, it is somthing to take into the account, and think how you make it defrent, and tb do mention that like aming. the idé with the mmo part gorn is also true, why do you play the game? i dont get better, becouse i dont need skills to play, i just faceroll, i dont get anything remotely usefull thing from the warhammer story. why shuld i play thes game then? there is no answer, becouse it dont provide what a game shuld. it miss total out off intertainment, where is the wow effect in the game? where is the thing there say, play me til you drop. there is not anything other than faceroll and kill some players. and the faceroll take out the fun off kill anyone, becouse you did not kill them your char. did

    im sory my pad spelling i hope you can read it. ty

  27. And yet look what he said at the start of the video “beta is beta, things could change”
    Or
    “this is a first impressions video, just because I don’t like it doesn’t mean you won’t”.

    He gave your product a bad review so what? You can still alter enough for the better and prove him wrong, whining about it is the less ethical route.

  28. “.. or don’t have big powerful developers backing them up and throwing in a bonus for a favourable video.”

    Pardon a Swede with somewhat less-than-stellar English, but are you with the (part) sentence quoted implying TB does favorably angled videos for a monetary incentive?
    If I am understanding you correctly, I would ask of you to re-educate yourself on TB’s stance regarding such things – I think you will find the following link fairly informative for that endeavor: http://www.cynicalbrit.com/cb-blog/honesty-in-games-journalism/
    There are several other things in the audio blog which should help you correct your factual errors; specifically regarding the point of the “WTF is..” series.

    If I have misunderstood you, please correct me.
    I am not white-knighting, nor am I fanboying.
    I am merely trying to correct a factually incorrect statement.

    Have a nice weekend!

  29. A: It isn’t an objective first impressions video, he gives his subjective opinions based off unarguable objective facts about the game, for instance, there are less skill based attacks in it than most MOBA games, and much less abilities than in most MMOs(PvP)- he forms an opinion on this as there being a low skillcap. Why is this bad? Because he seems acidic about it? I think the whole cynical bullshit gets old too, but that’s just my personal preference, I don’t think he’s milking that very hard since his points that aren’t opinions- are actual reflections of the game. If he is stating something inaccurately I would be interested to see someone quote it. To accuse him of taking bribes from developers is extremely silly, is there a conspiracy going on? The big devs do not give two shits about him, at least not so much as to hand over piles of money to shut his complaints up.(If you think you can demonstrate the opposite by listing examples of when this has happened, i’m all ears). If that were the case, why isn’t he doing WoW videos anymore? Blizzard didn’t want to fork over a big enough pile of cash?

    B: “Notoriously” bad? Really? Notorious? I think you’ve placed the wrong word there, exaggerations have crept into your criticism. If TB is “notoriously” bad, then what the fuck is tobuscus? I’ve seen quite a few of TBs videos, there’s a lot of self deprecation that goes on just like with… Every reviewer/vidyagamer who has a substantial subscriber base(?)… No, there is athene, but he’s just a lovable little trollman so i’m not sure that counts. Regardless, TB says he can be pretty shit at some games, he states he is horrible at puzzle games- while not so much at others. TB could be the worst player on the planet, you don’t seem to realize that his skill has nothing to do with evaluating the skillcaps within a game. If you have any idea how a game works- you can evaluate the skill involved without even playing the damn thing. If you roll dice to land attacks- VS one where you manually do so via cursor or whatever, you could be the worst at the latter yet still be able to quantify the skill needed to do such a thing- compared to dice.

    C: Beta is beta and TB says this many times. If you watched the video- you’d know he said it in that as well. Being wrong? How is he being wrong when he’s stating his opinion on the beta? If the beta changed into an amazing game, he would not be “wrong”, they’re not the same thing. The beta would’ve been bad at one point- and then improved, you’ve completely mislead yourself into thinking he’s said the entire game will factually be SHIT. Never has he said that. You’re really exaggerating and/or nerdbaiting when you say things like that. You seem to take issue that he provided a rather caustic view on the game, that’s fine, but you’re using those feelings to shit out arguments against the man which hold little to no water(they do not “prove” the points). I think you’ve made quite a mistake on this my fellow human. In the opening statements you state how much you think he’s talent-less garbage and is only liked because he’s british sounding or whatever, but hopefully you don’t apply that to anyone who doesn’t agree- and hopefully you don’t ignore the actual logical counterpoints made against what you’ve said here.

  30. So it’s a misconception that people think he’s charismatic, but it’s also subjective?
    You know, you’re not really making sense, sir.

  31. If you can explain to me what that game is supposed to be I’d probably give it more of my time, however from watching that video it looks like someone ripped the PvP combat system out of an MMO and forgot to put the MMO back in.

    So it gets the worst combat system possible with none of the redeeming qualities of being able to go do something less… well… boring.

  32. I’m a Starcraft player and I started to watch TB when I was a little nooby =). I always thought that TB had some skill and that I could learn from him. In fact I didn’t, I discovered Day[J], stopped watching TB (unintentional) and after a long, long time i stumbled over a “shoutcraft” stream on teamliquid. What I saw there was sooo bad. I always feel ashamed for him. A person considering himself as a professional caster, talking on stream in front of thousands of live viewers without having a clue about the game. He srsly doesn’t know much more about SC2 than any silver to gold league player. He’s always playing around with his language and his voice but in fact he doesn’t say anything or (even worse) just shit (e.g. talking about silly strats, explaining what’s obvious etc.).
    When you watch him play SC2 himself, it gets even worse. He is simply bad. I wouldn’t mind that, if he wasn’t such a popular caster. Beeing incompetent when it comes to SC2 is one thing but claiming to be a professional caster, a streaming player plus beeing incompetent is just annoying.
    I totally get your point. TB seems to be loved for his voice and his choice of words. I find him pretty embarrassing.
    He could just let sc2 go but no …

  33. Hahah. Very interesting crowd you’re reeling in here Blaq. I am trying to kill time at work and recalled a zombie survival flash game, but this is far more interesting at the moment. :P

    I would definitely consider this an injection of viewer friendly material, even though it attracted unfriendly viewers. x]

      • As I can’t see how this could be the cause of any of these absurd comments. lol. :P

        Though, I shouldn’t be surprised at the lack of reading comprehension. Also, it would seem that you are more influential with this blog than you originally thought. Forget the WAR blogroll. You should just bump TB off.

      • Haha.

        Though the thing is, that this is TB specific. Any kind of criticism gets his attention, if I were to write about anyone else I wouldn’t get nearly as much attention, I’m sure. No, I can hardly bump anyone off with how much I’ve been posting lately.

  34. I watch the video you speak of. I agree with you, it felt very unprofessional for someone who is trying to come off as having any credibility.

    I haven’t read you blog in a while, after switching emails and forgetting to subscribe, but I remember you were playing a bunch of games to give them a try. Have you ever considered APB: Reloaded? I didn’t play the Realtime Worlds release but I am enjoying GamersFirst’s release.

    • Yeah, I remember saying I’ll try the rebooted APB since I’ve been hearing good stuff about it (still am). I haven’t yet as I don’t have much opportunity to invest my time into gaming lately (or the blog, as you can see by the lack of posts). There are a few games I have on my “to do” list, but I totally forgot about APB. Thanks for reminding me, I have some free time coming up so I’ll make sure to try it.

  35. I agree with you. Well, I know it has almost been 10 months since the last one posted any comment here, but I thought that it wasn’t too late to go into an agreement with you. While I do like the kind of entertainment that TB poses to the public (that is, I never use his videos to give me any impression of a game, I’m just seeing him play it, making my thoughts on how the game is, and just decides to randomly buy it on Steam.) I do agree that sometimes the point of view he is throwing out isn’t fulfilling to the point where I’ll call it being objective, but rather opinionbased, making it biased.

    But at the same time, it’s “first impressions”, which pretty much disables my opinion. Well.. Everything is opinion based I guess, evidently.

    • I really don’t feel like opening that can of worms again, lest I tempt the wrath of legions of TB fanboys. Not that I’m afraid of them, I just don’t want their greasy fingers staining the hallowed pages of the most mediocre blog of them all.

Leave a Reply

