Weekend Music Madness

After last week’s debacle WMM is now back! Bigger and better than ever… wait, no, that’s a lie. It’s still pretty much the same. At least this week it’s a different genre.

I’m slowly making my way from rock into metal waters, so if you are not a particular fan of the guitar and bass heavy music you might want to go listen to Nyancat now. That being said, I encourage everyone to broaden their music horizon by at least giving the linked songs a short listen. You can always stop the video if you don’t like it, you know.

Before we really start on metal, I feel like I should do a post on symphonic metal first. You know the kind, a classically trained female voice with heavy guitars and bass riffs and usually a classical instrument or two or three or a whole orchestra.

Who to best start off with than the band that is the epitome of symphonic metal – Nightwish. Since I love all of their music (not as much since Tarja Turunen left), I really had no idea what song to link to. I went with the one that introduced me to the band – Wishmaster by Nightwish.


There are plenty of symphonic metal bands out there, but this next one holds a special place in my heart. Plus, Simone Simons is amazing. Sensorium by Epica.


Another great band that I feel is a bit different from others. You may not share that opinion, but that doesn’t change the fact that they make awesome music. Take The Devil In Me by Leaves’ Eyes.


Bonus: Doubtlessly I’ll be linking to this band more in the future because they have an epic history, produce absolutely amazing music and could be said to be a genre by themselves. But today, this piece will have to suffice – Son of the Sun by Therion.


Continuing the tradition of reminding you of any eSports events that are going on over the weekend, I’ll point you in the direction of Dreamhack Valencia Invitational that will start tomorrow in (probably incredibly hot) Spain. Unfortunately for fans of FPS or fighting games, this will be a purely Starcraft 2 event, but I encourage you to give it a chance anyway.

Have an awesome weekend!

Leave a Reply

