Weekend Music Madness

I have to apologise for this week’s poor attempt to appear like an actual blogger. I have, in fact, been busy with various things that make people busy and the week in general has been quite slow in gaming (if you disregard the WoW and Starcraft drama). In addition, I’ve been trying to make the best of the IP boost we got from the EU platform split in LoL (I’m on East/Nordic at the moment). Also, me and DA2 have had a bit of a falling out, which is why there was no DA2 post this week. However! There should be (quite likely, but not guaranteed) a good number of quality posts with star-dust and awesomeness sprinkled on top next week and if there aren’t you can report me for abusive behaviour, how’s that? With that, let’s see to some music, shall we.

Apparently I’ve been rude to the French in my LoL EU split post, which is why I have now deliberately (purely coincidentally) linked only to French music. And what do you know, all of it is in the electronic genre. As for any other classification, I’d have to resort to the mess that is synthpop/house/dance with rock and metal influences. Phew. Interested?

I’m talking about Daft Punk, of course! I’ve been a fan since I was a wee little boy (no, really, I’ve been listening to them since I was 14 or so) and Discovery was one of the first music albums I owned. Needless to say that it was a hell of a job selecting just a few of them, but here you go.

One of my favourite tracks off Discovery is – Aerodynamic by Daft Punk.


If you knew nothing about this sort of music you’d say that the next band is exactly the same as the previous one. They’re both basically two French guys who make awesome electronic music. But not so fast, because even though they sometimes sound similar their styles are quite distinct.

First pick is Genesis by Justice. You might have heard this one since it’s a popular opening tune for video projects.


Then have a listen to Phantom, Part II by Justice.


Not a bonus, this is the fourth song (because I can) — a live mashup of three (!) tracks from Alive 2007 by the two best masked musicians in the world (try to dispute that, go ahead I dare you): Superheroes/Human After All/Rock ‘n Roll by Daft Punk — an euphony of electronic goodness.


Enjoy your weekend and try not to overindulge in beer. I know it’s hot and all, but beer is a caloric beverage. Or alternatively, go on a beer diet. It works! Only if you’re fine with being drunk 24/7, that is.

6 thoughts on “Weekend Music Madness

  1. First, I’m okay with being drunk 24/7, but your advice is sensible so I will limit the beer by making every other drink a glass of wine.

    Second, nice one! Love Daft Punk! My ‘The Greatest Show I Never Saw’ final post (in three weeks) will break your heart, trust me :)

    • Well, I haven’t seen them live yet because a) I don’t know anyone who’d come with me (and I really dread going on my own) and b) when they were in my area in the past I was deemed to be “too young” to go (was quite a while ago).

      I know I need to see them live but it’s not really a priority for me. If I get the chance, awesome, if not, well music is music. :D

      Oh and wine over beer is good for limiting calories. Or you could just exercise more, but I find that non-sensical when it’s this hot. :P (Unless it’s swimming of course. A kingdom, a kingdom for a house with a pool).

      • A pool would be cool but I know that I’d just end up sitting in chair beside it drinking a beer and watching the dogs swim about…..which wouldn’t be so bad really. I miss the sea! That was nice on hot days for both me and the dog.

    • I was planning on transferring to West when they manage to fix the transfer thingy. But now I’m not so sure, I might transfer my other level 5 account to West since East isn’t that bad. We’ll see ^^

Leave a Reply

