The art of pissing off your playerbase

Edit: Well, at least it was over quick this time.

Right now, I’m glad I’m not one of the people who come home, after a day at work, have a meal and then want to sit down with a glass of wine (or beer) to have a nice evening of WAR. Because the servers have just gone down for maintenance. And if I were one of those people, I’d probably rage.

Mythic, I can understand urgency and wanting to provide quality service. But this server takedown doesn’t have anything to do with urgency, as I’d classify an urgent maintenance (and believe me, this has to be urgent as hell) as a maintenance that is done in order to fix the game when it’s not playable. It was playable. Well, as much as it always is, at any rate. There was lag, yes, but we can live with that, as we have for almost 2 years under GOA and more recently on Mythic’s own servers. I heard there were people falling through the world in scenarios, but I’m sure that the general consensus would be that we’d rather not do scenarios at all, than not play WAR for the rest of the evening. Even if those weren’t the reasons for maintenance, I’m sure that whatever was wrong with the servers wasn’t urgent enough to warrant a maintenance in the middle of EU friday prime-time. Friday *freaking* prime-time.

And I wouldn’t call this a quality service. What would you rather have, fix the game for 12 people who have broken an instance or fix an exploit someone found (no idea if that happened), but take down the servers in prime-time, or leave the exploit/broken instance in the game for a few more hours and have people happily playing away (and do the maintenance off prime-time)? It looks to me like the latter might go under quality service sooner than the former.

EU players have all the right to be pissed, especially since this isn’t the first time(!) this has happened. I’ve seen it happen on a friday before, and people are saying this is actually the fourth time EU players have gotten their servers taken down in prime-time. So what the hell Mythic? This thing better be about something huge and important. Otherwise, I’m just going to assume you are trying to shed some people cause servers are too full. A few subs up or down, the main thing the servers don’t lag, amirite?

I’m not bitter, I just like the servers to be down when I’m not trying to play. I’m weird like that. I hope it’s curable.

Leave a Reply

